Beginners question

Hi guys, I would firstly like to apologise for my lack of in depth technical knowledge but i am a self taught programmer getting to grips with Xcode, Swift & Python at the moment. My IOS APP needs are as follows & I am wondering if CouchBase can fulfil them ?..

I need to set up a scheduled script / program to pull regular JSON data from public API streams (twitter, Facebook etc) and place / sort into database fields.

I then need to perform calculations / formulas on some of those fields to create totals.

I then need to make calls to the data from my APP / users through my Swift code, and also make relevant connections from a user database & the API data.

Could I store my APP image & source files through Couchbase server too ?

I hope this makes sense & someone could advise on possible solution with Couchbase.
Thankyou

Yes, you should be able to do all this.

The key is to do all data modifications through Sync Gateway. So, if you ingest data from Twitter, for example, you’d want to decide how you’re going to store that in documents. Then do your computations update those documents, most likely using either the Swagger client for Python, or by hooking in to the native Java Couchbase Lite implementation on the server side (or making the REST calls yourself).

You can do queries and such with N1QL on Couchbase Server, but you should treat any mobile buckets as read-only.

Regarding keeping the app image and source files on the server, I’m not sure I see the point…? You are going to have a hard time installing the app from there.