When I grant user access to a new channel, he get’s a backfill for the channel, which includes documents that have been previously removed from that channel. ( they show up as removal documents in his _changes feed )
In a simplified version of my use case -
- documents are added to ‘active’ channel , then at some point later removed.
- (some) users need to be given access to this active channel so they get the currently active documents synced down.
The issue is, after a period of operation, the backfill of removed documents ( if they are since the beginning of time) will dwarf the actual data.
Does Sync Gateway do something to limit this? I’ve only tested a small amount, but it does seem to always backfill from the beginning of time for a new access grant.