Nodejs SDK issues

Hi,

This is more of a feedback then a question.
I’ve been working with your nodeJS SDK for 3 months now and I got to point that it is yet to be reliable for production.

It starts with the fact that your SDK crashes the process, something that should never happen.
Your SDK should capture all errors thrown and pass them as an error to callbacks.
You actually make us wrap async calls with try-catch blocks which is a bad behavior.

Secondly, you break conventions.
Your getMulti, for example, returns a number in the error parameter for callbacks as the amount of documents failed which makes the code loop through the data parameter with if statement to screen the errors from the data.
You should simply return errors in error and data in data. If I wanted an amount I would simply count the keys or the error array’s length.

I have more examples, but I thought to point out that after hearing such good things about couchbase, I am really disappointed to see such unprofessional SDK.

Take it or leave it,

Thanks anyways.

Hey @tzali,

Can you give me an example of a situation where the SDK crashes? This is not something we have really encountered before so I am very curious what situations cause this! Additionally, while you’re right that our async calls sometimes throw exceptions, these are cases where you have passed programatically invalid data (missing a parameter or passing a key which can never be valid) to the method, this should never happen in a production application anyways and is used for debugging.

I am happy to hear you are using Couchbase and am very interested in any other examples you have where the SDK fails to meet your expectations. Please let me know any other pain points you have encountered and I will be happy to incorporate your feedback!

Cheers, Brett

The errors you throw in your SDK have nothing to do with what I pass to the functions I use.
These errors are direct result of faulty logics. I know. I debugged your SDK.