Node.js bindings for Couchbase Lite

I’m building a Node native addon wrapper around Couchbase Lite for C to provide a cross platform solution for Windows, MacOS, Linux, iOS, and Android.

The library currently supports nearly all the features in the Community Edition (including querying, replication, and blobs), but has only been tested on MacOS so far, and there are occasional bugs that have been extremely difficult to track down.

I’ve been writing JavaScript and a handful of other languages for 20 years, but this is my first time writing C and using Node-API. My lack of experience in these areas is holding me back from providing a first-rate library to the community. So I’m hoping to get some help on this project from others more experienced in C. I also welcome any feedback from other Node users interested in this project.

Note: this is very much a work in progress and the API is not guaranteed to be consistent.

3 Likes

Hi @jpsilva,

Thanks a lot for your effort in developing the Node.js bindings for Couchbase Lite. We would love to have you listed alongside some of the other bindings for Couchbase Lite. I can also suggest joining our Discord community where you could get some support from other community members/staff.

Additionally, it might be useful for you to get in touch with the developers of another one of our community bindings, the Dart/Flutter package.

1 Like

Thanks, @nithishr.

I took inspiration from the other listed bindings when building this library and would be happy to join their ranks. I see the Dart bindings authors created a GitHub org just for that library, and I think I’ll do the same so it doesn’t look like just some abandonware personal project.

Thanks for the invite to the Discord community and link to the Dart/Flutter bindings. I’ll reach out in both places for help and feedback.