Gocb v2 Collection threadsafe?

Hi All,

I’m just getting started integrating with couchbase, using golang. It seems like v2 is the best place to start (even though it is still a prerelease).

It seems like Collections are the v2 way to interact with buckets. My question is: Are Collections threadsafe? i.e. can I put a pointer to a collection into a grpc or http handler and just use the same collection to do all of my querying for all of my concurrent requests, or should I give the handler the pointer to the bucket and instantiate the DefaultCollection() for each request?

Thanks! :slight_smile:

Actually… I’m not so sure about v2 anymore. You do not actually get any errors when you connect to a non-existent database, you only get errors when you try to execute a query. That’s a little too late in my opinion…
The following code:

auth := gocb.PasswordAuthenticator{
	Username: "Administrator",
	Password: "password",
}
opts := gocb.ClusterOptions{
	Authenticator: auth,
}
cluster, err := gocb.NewCluster("blahblah", opts)
if err != nil {
    return err
}
bucket := cluster.Bucket("non-existent", nil)

doesn’t return an error. That’s kind of weird IMO.

Hi @mec07, you’re correct that collections are how to interact with KV operations. Services like query are part of the cluster level API (although you still need to open a bucket before you can query at the moment, this should be changing before GA though). Collections indeed should be threadsafe, if you open multiple instances of the default collection on a single bucket then they’ll share the same connection behind the scenes anyway.

Actually… I’m not so sure about v2 anymore. You do not actually get any errors when you connect to a non-existent database, you only get errors when you try to execute a query. That’s a little too late in my opinion…