Clarifications on Couchbase index

Hi! I am very new to Couchbase. I am going thru the CB docs and I come from Mongo and GraphDB background. My questions regarding primary index and secondary index.
Let’s say I have a bucket and 10 different collections. 5 of them are somewhat related to one another and other 5 are somewhat related to one another. I see primary index in CB is optional if we setup proper secondary index based on query patterns. Is that true? Even if I want to create a primary index, based on my collection types (they are independent), will it help in any way yielding results quickly?

1. Lets say I have collection1-10, and I create a primary index on a collection1, does it store only the keys from collection1 or all the keys from all 10 collections? If it stores only keys from one collection, how will primary index help us with faster queries?
  2. Let’s say I don’t have any primary index, so when I add documents to each collection with key-value pair, does CB create index automatically on Keys (like _id in mongo)? Or Should I be creating that? Can I have Secondary index on values as well?
  3. META().id v/s USE KEYS. It looks like one uses primary index to query but other one uses Keys. So my question is when we use USE KEYS does CB query keys from disk or should I be creating a secondary index on Keys here?
  4. Sorry for a silly question, Is CB in-memory or disk based?

I guess what I am trying to understand is what is the best practice? Should we use primary index or create secondary index on id? or do neither and USE KEYS instead?

In couchbase to use N1QL
You need document keys (i.e. USE KEYS comes into play)
Or must have index on the collection. Index Scan produces keys and used to Fetch the document (same way USE KEYS but it is internal).

1. Primary Index. Indexes all the document in that collection